Vermont Government

Vermont was the first state admitted to the Union after the ratification of the Constitution. With a population of fewer than nine thousand people, Montpelier, Vermont is the smallest state capital in the United States. Vermont has fourteen counties, that together contain 255 political units, including 237 towns, 9 cities, 5 unincorporated areas, and 4 gores.

To learn more, visit the official website of the State of Vermont.


Vermont's 14 Counties

  • Addison
  • Bennington
  • Caledonia
  • Chittenden
  • Essex
  • Franklin
  • Grand Isle
  • Lamoille
  • Orange
  • Orleans
  • Rutland
  • Washington
  • Windham
  • Windsor